mmmm, tea!

My roommate, Erin, had her electric kettle shipped, and since then our room (which includes our third roommate, Andrea) has become a room of constant tea drinking. It is very delicious, and much cheaper than my previous coffee addiction. (Though that still exists, it is just more manageable now.)

Aaaaaanyway…..

My first week at the Starr has gone great. My first day was on Sunday, which incidentally was the Debate Society’s first day of rehearsal, so it worked out perfectly in that I will have been a member of the team since the beginning.

I feel like I should clarify: I am interning at the Bushwick Starr Theater, but the Starr itself does not put on performances. They are a theater that companies who need a space can rehearse and perform their plays in. In October, the theatre company The Debate Society will be performing their original play Blood Play, and in the meantime have started rehearsal in the rehearsal space upstairs. And so my first two months here– September and October– will pretty much be spent working with the Debate Society on Blood Play. 

All right, clarification done. So yes, my first four days of my internship have been spent in the rehearsal room with the Debate Society. I help the stage manager with things like making coffee, keep the space clean, take notes on the discussion (the details of the script are still being set, so there is a lot to take notes on…), run errands across town to pick up tape orders, give input when I dare… its a fun time, though six hour rehearsals are long, especially when I am sitting and watching the whole time. Even after only these four days though, I do feel like this play is somehow my project too. I’m invested in it and excited about it and already quoting inside jokes to my roommates (they give me very blank looks). So yes, the internship is going well.

I have also started working on a devised piece with my friend Terry, who graduated last year from L&C and is now teaching small and troublesome children here in the city. We met in Central Park today to rehearse, and probably perplexed many of the nice families and couples who were out enjoying the sunny lawn with our very physical character work. The theme of the piece was inspired by the paradox of this city of a million souls in which no one ever sees each other. I am very excited for it, though at some point we will have to find a space other than Central Park… we will worry about it when we get there!

Friday night was interesting. First we all went and saw a play called Hot Box over in Queens. It was a very weird and much too long piece of performance art (I’m sorry guy who conceived of and was in it, I’m not calling it a play) in which the two actors got very drunk and exercised for two hours before the play, and then spent almost an hour staring into projectors (that we then saw) while fog and crazy lights and loud music happened. Very strange. After that my roommates and I went over to Columbia University, and Terry (through a co-worker) got us into the equivalent of L&C’s Fall Ball. It was great rest of the night full of wild dancing.

Tomorrow I go back to work at the Starr, and after rehearsal I am going to help set up and then stay for a play reading that the theater is hosting.

Life in New York for the win!

Leave a Reply

