Rest easy all, the future is assured!

Sooooo……

I will be interning with Bushwick Starr Theater in Brooklyn! I am very excited and eager to start ASAP and will hopefully be overworked because honesty, I have been getting bored. You can only take so much of the city before you need some down time, and I’m ashamed to say I have watched more movies in the two weeks I’ve been here than I did all summer. (I just did a mental rack-up of all the movies I watched this summer and came up with The Hours, and I fell asleep halfway through it…. so my comparison isn’t worth much…. but still!) I miss the improv and rehearsal I do in my free time at college and the games and frisbee I do at  home. I did play some frisbee in the park with some random guys today though, so that was fun!

But yes, I have an internship!

I would like to say that it was a tough decision, that all of the theaters wanted me and I had to choose… but, well, it wouldn’t be the case. NYTW said “they didn’t think my skill set was well suited for the position” and Terra Nova said they found another intern. Kind of disappointing…  but also relieving in a way, because I was not looking forward to the decision between hands-on/great vibe vs good on a resume. So I have no regrets!

I just realized I should maybe mention that I have not been spending all my time watching movies! I have been spending a lot of time in the East Village– it is very close to NYU, so there are hoards of college kids running around. Its a little more laid back there, and everyone is my age so its a good escape from the frenzy of midtown. I decided what I needed to do to meet people was to establish myself in a coffee shop, so to become familiar with all the other locals in the coffee shop… so I have been spending time in a coffee shop called MUD, introduced to me by my friend Brooklyn when she was passing though on her way back to college in Maine.

If anyone reading this has any suggestions for places I should check out, they should let me know. I’m always up for wandering new parts of the city in search of food and such! You can comment on this thing you know! Oh. I just had the horrible thought that there might be nobody reading this. NOOOOOO!!!!! Fiends! The indignity!!!!    (Falls back from her computer, a look of abject horror on her face. Looking wildly about she grabs the nearest item at hand, a–ummm– phone, and with a savage intensity that belays her timid and gentle nature she–……)

Wow, I am bored. *sigh.

Anyhow, peace, love and the number 42. (A very wise person once quoted to me that it is “the secret to life, the universe, and everything”).

5 thoughts on “Rest easy all, the future is assured!

  1. Good to hear about what you are doing Shanan! Miss you sista’

  2. Johanna says:

    I sincerely hope that by “quoted to me” you mean you read the damn books. =P

  3. Avery says:

    Go to 5 corners! The one in Queens, with graffiti stretching into the heavens.

  4. Michael Olich says:

    We ARE reading…and CONGRATS on your new internship – and your exciting blog – good work on ALL accounts, Shanan!

Leave a Reply

