One Week This Morning

Exactly a week ago, except at 5 in the morning instead of the more reasonable 9:30, I was arriving in NYC. Time flys, and yet there is also the feeling that I’ve been here forever, that this is all I’ve known. In terms of internships, when I arrived all of my summer work was proving essentially fruitless, and I was very wary of meeting up with Stepan and having to respond to his “Aand do you have an iinternshiip?”

A week later, and its looking like I will have to do some serious choosing. (knock on wood!). Stepan had put me in touch with his friend Edward who is doing a collaboration project with one Kevin of Lone Wolfe Tribe Theater. I went out to Brooklyn to meet with them, and ended up taking notes and being on book while Kevin did an impromptu run through of his piece about God proving humanity. It included a stuffed monkey, plastic intestines, and a very large loogie. They are currently my backup; I would prefer to work with a company, rather than help one artist develop his work– creative though it was(!).

My roommate, Andrea, had contacts with Terra Nova Theater through her brother, and so she took me to go see them. It is staffed by about 6 women, who all seem very cool and on top of their shit, and they have a crazy season coming up; like 4 + plays in the coming semester if I remember correctly. They need someone at the rehearsal space, and to help with tech and strike and whatever else needs doing… They also have a Sunday script reading session that I could probably get in on; read stage directions, or something. They said they would get back to me early next week and be more specific on what they would have me be doing.

Stepan is also friends with Jim Nicola, artistic director of New York Theater Workshop, and he told me to get in touch with him even though their application deadline had already passed. So I did… and he sent my email on to the internship coordinators… and lucky me, they just re-opened their search for a few positions they didn’t manage to fill! So I sent in a formal application, and we’ll see what happens. I requested that they get back to me ASAP either way as I have other theaters waiting on me, and I really have no expectations either way. Yep, so I’m waiting to see if they even call me in for an interview on this one. (NYTW is the most well- established of the 4 theaters I am currently looking at. Like, they would look good on my resume. So we’ll see)

Last but not least is the Bushwick Starr theater. A theater prof at L&C, Rebecca, put me in touch with Noel, Artistic Director of Bushwick Starr, and he got in touch with me extremely quickly saying he needed someone ASAP. I went out and met with him yesterday and am totally convinced I would have great time working at his theater if all the other staff are near as cool as he is. (He wears hipster glasses, Portland friends– I mean, come on!) In this case I would be doing similar stuff to what I would do with Terra Nova. Namely, helping them get The Debate Society’s show Blood Play on its feet and run with it. Good stuff.

And so now… I am waiting. (To hear back from Terra Nova and NYTW, in case that wasn’t clear.)

Oh, other non-internshipy-but-still-program-related-things are that we started classes last week. Should be fun. We spent an hour staring out the window of our classroom and discussing the building across the street in Architecture class, and wandered around the Whitney art museum all afternoon in Art class. We saw the play One Man, Two Governors last Wednesday, a take off of Servant of Two Masters, and it was hilarious. Like no joke, solid two hours of laughing. So that was great!

And today the hotel RA’s are putting on a free laundry party! So much to look forward too!

Cheers

Leave a Reply

