In the CITY!!!

The city is here and now and all around me. I have been sucked into a vortex in which you pass a thousand faces in a day and yet somehow they are all so unique you notice them as individuals. At least until they second after they have flashed by, at which point they return to the pluralized mob of humanity that at day’s end is remembered as a shoe; a tattoo; a strand of belligerent hair.

I am sitting in my 18th floor room at the New Yorker Hotel, smack dab in the middle of midtown and a mere few blocks from time square. This morning when it rained I pressed my face against the glass and looked down to see the anthill obscured by umbrellas. Most were black but the fruit seller had a rainbow one.

I became friends with a security guard today. I was trying to gain access into the inner depths of a theater company’s offices today to talk to the Internship Coordinator about an internship that I had applied for. He should have turned me away at the door, but instead he got me passed two official people and three doors before I got turned away by a polite secretary who informed me their positions were full. When I walked back out passed him he advised me to keep trying, as sometimes these spots open up.

I heard back from Atlantic Theater a few days ago; they did not have a position to offer me. Two others on the program did manage to find an internship with them, however. As my teacher Stepan truthfully said, “they are techies, of course they get hired. Its a lot harder to place an actor. They’ll be the ones with the jobs.” Truths that are hard are still true.

The city smells like a city. I forget these things, living rurally. But every block my senses are assaulted. Smells, both good and bad. Sights, ugly buss depots to the beauty of an Indian woman’s sari. The energy is hard to turn off, however; it throbs to the sounds of traffic. Yesterday there was a protest in Bryant Park– Equal Chest Bearing Rights for Men and Woman! There were a lot of breasts in evidence. There was also an unruffled girl turning fabulous cartwheels on the grass.

Tomorrow I am having coffee with an Edward Einhorn about a possible internship. We had some contact over the summer, but it was an unproductive effort. Hopefully it will go better in person.

Two of my good friends Terry and Charlotte are in NY. Terry is living here, while Charlotte will leave in a few days to go back to L&C. We walked the city yesterday, ending the day with a free ASSCAT improv show at the Upright Citizens Brigade Theater. After a two wait in the line we descended the steps into a low ceilinged dimly lit theater. It was intimate, with no more than 150 people and the front row siting on the edges of the stage with their backs up against the knees behind them. I was one of the pairs of knees behind them, and was actually kind of uncomfortable about how the proximity of the guy in front of my knees made me either sit sideways in my chair or half straddle him. I went back and forth– it was  long show.

I ran up the 18 flights of stairs yesterday, and my roommates and I walked up them today.  Hopefully it will become a habit, and the suspicious hotel security guards will get used to me sneaking up the service stairs.

And the city is still here and now….

Leave a Reply

